West Hills NC


WHNC 5/5/16 Board Meeting

The May meeting of the West Hills NC Board was truly a symbol of a united community. The night began with a packed room filled with residents, and numerous local, state, and federal representatives. Special guest Herb Wesson, CD10 Councilman and President of the LA City Council, as well as CD12 Chief of Staff John Lee swore in newly elected and reelected board members for their new terms as official city representatives of the community of West Hills. With each election cycle, the WHNC Board holds elections of its officers giving the Neighborhood Council Board members new opportunities to better our community. We would like to congratulate our unanimously reelected board officers and look forward to another great term: President: Dan Brin Vice President: Charlene Rothstein Secretary: Nicole Flessati Treasurer: Bobbi Trantafello Controller: Bob Brostoff We were then able to present Jacqueline Young, an outgoing board member and Co-Chair of the Education Committee, with a certificate of appreciation for her years of service to the community. Thank you for all that you and have done to make West Hills a better place for all of us. It was a true honor for the WHNC to present certificates of appreciation to three true community heroes. David Daily, Devin Coury, and Sandra Taylor were able to come to the aid of three members of the West Hills community who lost their lives crossing the intersection of Jason/Roscoe mid April. We thank you for your heroism and selflessness in this community tragedy. We also were able to recognize the outstanding achievements of 10 local educators from schools within the community. The WHNC Education Committee surveyed local schools to find school employees whose example, dedication, and educational commitment stood out. The honorees were nominated and selected by their peers and fellow staff members.Congratulations to the schools and their honorees: Hamlin Street Academy: Stacey Zavala and Cecilia Castillo Justice Street Academy: Laura Monterastelli Nevada Street Elementary School: Laurie Anderson and Collen Ruane Pomelo Community Charter School:Risden Parks, Rosa Arroyo, Henlie Sakamoto, Karryn Grossman, and Judy Saute. Thank you CD12 Chief of Staff John Lee for helping make these awards possible. To top it off, Herb Wesson was able to host a brief Q&A session regarding the proposed DWP reform effort coming before the City Council. Thank you Herb for your continued commitment to Neighborhood Councils and residents of Los Angeles, we can't wait to see you again!

West Hills Neighborhood Council Small Logo
© 2022 West Hills Neighborhood Council.
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy Accessibility

Web Design by The Web Corner